Local Government of Cyprus

Association: Union of Cyprus Municipalities; Union of Cyprus Communities

Local government is provided for by the Municipalities Law 1985 and the Communities Law 1999, and not by the constitution, although the constitution does refer to five municipalities. In the government-controlled areas there are 24 municipal councils and, covering the rural areas, 355 community councils. Local elections are held every five years.

The local authorities in both urban and rural areas have powers to raise revenue from taxes and fees, and they receive transfers from national government, for specific developmental projects as well as statutory responsibilities. All the authorities have statutory responsibility for providing certain public services such as public health, water supply and waste disposal, and municipal councils are also responsible for social services, and the larger municipal councils for the planning permission process.