Judicial System of Cyprus

Supreme court: Supreme Court of Cyprus

Ministry: Justice and Public Order

The justice system is broadly based on English common law, and is presided over by the Supreme Court, which in 1964 succeeded the Supreme Constitutional Court and the High Court.

The Supreme Court is the final court of appeal and rules on constitutional issues. The other organs of justice include the District Court, Assize Court, Family Court, Rent Control Tribunal, Military Court and Industrial Disputes Tribunal.

The District Court has jurisdiction to hear and determine at the first instance all civil actions, except those that come under the Family Court, Rent Control Tribunal and Industrial Disputes Tribunal; the Assize Court, the most serious criminal cases. Other criminal cases appear before district courts. The district courts are located in Paralimni, Larnaca, Limassol, Nicosia and Paphos; and the assize courts in Larnaca, Limassol, Nicosia and Paphos. The district courts comprise a single judge; and assize courts a panel of three judges.