Local Government of Mauritius

Ministry: Local Government and Outer Islands

Association: Mauritius Association of Urban Authorities; Association of District Councils

Local government is provided for by the Local Government Act 1989, the Rodrigues Regional Assembly Act 2001 and the Local Government Act 2003. The only element of local government enshrined in the constitution is the Rodrigues Regional Assembly. The Ministry of Local Government and Outer Islands is responsible for local government, which comprises the Rodrigues Regional Assembly; a tier of five municipalities, including Port Louis (to be increased to seven under the 2003 legislation), and four district councils; and a second tier of 124 village councils. Local elections are held every five years.

The Rodrigues Regional Assembly has revenue-raising powers and receives transfers from national government. It is responsible for a broad range of local services. The municipalities and district councils have limited revenue-raising powers, and receive the bulk of their revenue from national government. They have statutory responsibility for education, environmental protection, public sanitation, roads, culture and leisure facilities.