Government Politics of Mauritius

Last elections: December 2014

Next elections: 2019

Head of state: President Dr Bibi Ameenah Firdaus Gurib-Fakim

Head of government: Prime Minister Sir Anerood Jugnauth

Ruling party: Alliance Lepep

The elections in September 2000 were won by an alliance of the two main opposition parties, the Mouvement Socialiste Mauricien (MSM) and the Mouvement Militant Mauricien (MMM), taking 54 seats while the Labour Party won only six, and alliance leader Sir Anerood Jugnauth formed a new government, with MMM leader Paul Bérenger as his deputy until September 2003 when, by agreement, Bérenger became prime minister and caretaker president Karl Offmann made way for Jugnauth to become president.

In the July 2005 general election, the opposition Social Alliance (with 38 seats) defeated the governing alliance (22 seats) and Labour Party leader Dr Navinchandra Ramgoolam became prime minister. Turnout was over 80%.

The general election in May 2010 was won by Ramgoolam’s newly formed Alliance of the Future, with 41 of the 62 National Assembly seats, while the opposition Alliance of the Heart – led by Paul Bérenger – won 18.

At the end of March 2012 Jugnauth resigned the presidency to return to party politics. Vice-President Monique Ohsan-Bellepeau became acting president. On 20 July 2012 Rajkeswur Purryag was elected president by a majority of the members of the National Assembly.

The general election held on 10 December 2014 was won by the MSM-led Alliance Lepep, which secured 51 seats, including four best losers. The governing Labour Party–MMM alliance took 16 seats, including three best losers, and the Organisation of the People of Rodrigues two. Alliance Lepep formed a coalition government with Sir Anerood Jugnauth as Prime Minister.

On 29 May 2015 President Rajkeswur Purryag resigned and Vice-President Monique Ohsan-Bellepeau became acting President. On 4 June 2015 Dr Ameenah Gurib-Fakim was unanimously elected President by the National Assembly.