Geography of Malta

Area: 316 sq km

Coastline: 253km

Capital: Valletta

The Republic of Malta comprises an archipelago of six islands and islets in the middle of the Mediterranean Sea, 93km south of Sicily and 290km from the coast of North Africa. Malta, Gozo and Comino are inhabited; the other islands are Cominotto, Filfla and St Paul’s Island.