Local Government of India

Ministry: Housing and Urban Poverty Alleviation; Urban Development; Rural Development

Institute: All-India Institute of Local Self-Government

India has three levels of government: national, state and local. Each state has its own legislature (usually unicameral); governor (appointed by the president for five years); and a ministerial council headed by a chief minister. The 1950 constitution established the division of power between the national and state legislatures.

Local government is provided for by the 73rd and 74th constitutional amendments. The national Ministry for Housing and Urban Poverty Alleviation; Ministry for Urban Development; and Ministry for Rural Development are all responsible for local government. Scheduling of local elections varies from state to state.

There has been a trend towards devolution of union and state power to local government.