Local Government of Bangladesh

Ministry: Local Government, Rural Development and Co-operatives

Local government is provided for by the 2008 local government ordinances; the Zila Parishad Act 2000; and the Hill District Local Government Parishad Act 1989, and it is enshrined in the constitution. The Local Government Division of the Ministry of Local Government, Rural Development and Co-operatives is responsible for local government, except that the hill district parishads are under the aegis of the Ministry of Hill Tract Affairs.

The 64 administrative districts comprise unitary urban authorities; and three-tier administrative structures in the rural areas. Local elections are held every five years. The local authorities have revenue-raising powers, funding services such as health, education and social welfare in the urban areas; and implementation of development projects, roads and public libraries in the rural areas.