Local Government of Kiribati

Ministry: Local Government and Chieftainship Affairs

Local government is provided for by the Local Government Act 1984 (amended 2006), and it is enshrined in the constitution. The Minister of Internal and Social Affairs is responsible for local government, which comprises 23 island councils and three town councils. Local elections are held every four years.

The local authorities have revenue-raising powers, as well as receiving transfers from national government; for the island councils these transfers constitute a higher proportion of total revenue than for urban councils. The councils are generally responsible for such services as primary health care; public sanitation; water supply; early years’ schooling; and local transport.