Judicial System of Rwanda

Supreme court: Supreme Court

Ministry: Justice

The constitution provides for an independent judiciary, comprising the Supreme Court, the High Court, and the provincial, district and municipal tribunals. The Supreme Court is the final court of appeal and the constitutional court. The president and vice-president of the Supreme Court are elected by the Senate.

Gacaca courts were established exclusively to deal with crimes against humanity committed during 1990–94, and especially the genocide of 1994. These courts became operational in November 2002 and completed their work in June 2012. In these courts ordinary Rwandans are judged their peers.