Local Government of New Zealand

Ministry: Department of Internal Affairs

Association: Local Government New Zealand

Local government is provided for by the Local Electoral Act 2001, the Local Government Act 2002, the Local Government (Rating) Act 2002 and the Local Government New Zealand Borrowing Act 2011, and not by the constitution. The Minister of Local Government is responsible for local government, which comprises 12 regional councils and 73 territorial authorities (16 city councils and 57 district councils). Four of these are unitary councils, serving both as regional councils and territorial authorities. Local elections are held every three years.

The local authorities have revenue-raising powers, most of their income coming from property tax. The regional councils are responsible for environmental management policy and regulations. The territorial authorities are responsible for provision of a wide range of local services including water management, sewerage, waste management, leisure facilities, town planning and economic development.