Local Government of United Republic of Tanzania

Ministry: Prime Minister’s Office

Association: Association of Local Authorities of Tanzania

Zanzibar is a semi-autonomous part of Tanzania, with its own devolved government and legislature.

Local government in mainland Tanzania is substantially provided for by the Local Government (District Authorities) Act 1982 and the Local Government (Urban Authorities) Act 1982, and in Zanzibar by the Zanzibar Municipal Council Act 1995 and the District and Town Councils Act 1995; and it is enshrined in Article 145 of the constitution. The Ministry for Regional Administration and Local Government in the Prime Minister’s Office is responsible for local government in mainland Tanzania, which comprises four city, 22 town and 106 district authorities. In Zanzibar local government comprises ten authorities. Local elections are held every five years.

The local authorities have revenue-raising powers, and levy taxes and fees, as well as receiving transfers from the union government. They are responsible inter alia for economic development planning; law and order; agriculture, business and industry support services; and promotion of economic and social welfare.