Local Government of Tuvalu

Ministry: Home Affairs and Rural Development

Local government is provided for by the Falekaupule Act 1997, and not by the constitution. The Ministry of Home Affairs and Rural Development is responsible for local government, which comprises eight kaupule (island councils). Local elections are held every four years.

The Kaupule hold quarterly assemblies when the annual budget and island development plans are discussed by the people. They have revenue-raising powers, and impose and collect head tax, land tax, rates and licence fees, as well as receiving funding from national government They are generally responsible for such infrastructure and services as roads; local transport; and leisure facilities; and, in conjunction with national government, health care; education; and support to agriculture and fisheries.