Government Politics of Tuvalu

Last elections: March 2015

Next elections: 2019

Head of state: Queen Elizabeth II, represented by governor-general, Sir Iakoba Italeli (2010–)

Head of government: Prime Minister Enele Sopoaga

Ruling party: no party system

There are no political parties in Tuvalu. Following the July 2002 general election, when Prime Minister Koloa Talake lost his seat, Saufatu Sopoanga was elected by parliament to be prime minister. However, after the by-elections in May 2003, he no longer commanded the support of the majority of MPs, but refused to recall parliament until after October 2003 when one opposition member was appointed to cabinet and, following another by-election, one more member joined the government benches. However, in August 2004 Sopoanga was unable to win a vote of confidence and in October 2004 Maatia Toafa was elected prime minister.

Eight new members were elected in the August 2006 general election, Prime Minister Toafa being the only member of his cabinet to retain their seat. Parliament subsequently elected Apisai Ielemia prime minister.

In the September 2010 general election, ten of the 15 members from the previous parliament were re-elected. Parliament then elected Maatia Toafa prime minister; he defeated Kausea Natano by eight votes to seven. On 21 December 2010, however, the new head of government was defeated in a no-confidence vote and on 24 December Willy Telavi was chosen by parliament to succeed him, defeating Enele Sopoaga by eight votes to seven.

On 2 August 2013 Prime Minister Willy Telavi lost a vote of no confidence (eight to four) and on 4 August Sopoaga was elected Prime Minister (eight to five).

Twelve of the 15 members of the previous Parliament were returned in the general election on 31 March 2015. Parliament assembled on 10 April to choose a Prime Minister and Enele Sopoaga was re-elected uncontested.