National Development Plan of Papua New Guinea

The Papua New Guinea Vision 2050 sets out a vision for the long-term development of the country. It has seven strategic focus areas or ‘pillars’:

  • Human capital development and people empowerment
  • Wealth creation
  • Institutional development and public service delivery
  • Security and international relations
  • Environmental sustainability and climate change
  • Spiritual, cultural and community development
  • Strategic planning, integration and control It aims to achieve the following outcomes:
  • That all people identify with Vision 2050
  • Strong political leadership
  • Better governance
  • Improved public service delivery
  • Maintenance of law and order in all parts of the country
  • Strong and sustained economic growth.