Judicial System of Fiji

Supreme court: Supreme Court

Ministry: Office of the Attorney-General

The judicial system includes the Supreme Court, Court of Appeal, High Court and Magistrates’ Court, and is presided over by the chief justice. The High Court comprises civil, criminal, family, employment relations and tax divisions; the Magistrates’ Court, civil and criminal divisions, the Juvenile Court and Small Claims Tribunal.

The entire judiciary was dismissed by the President of the republic in April 2009 after the Court of Appeal ruled that the government that came into power in the 2006 coup was illegal. The present judiciary was established by the Administration of Justice Decree 2009 (No 9) of 22 May 2009.