Geography of Fiji

Area: 18,333 sq km

Coastline: 1,130km

Capital: Suva

The Republic of Fiji lies 1,850km north of Auckland, New Zealand, and 2,800km north-east of Sydney, Australia. It consists of about 300 islands (100 inhabited) and 540 islets, spread over 3 million sq km. It is surrounded by the island groups of (clockwise from north) Tuvalu, Wallis and Futuna, Tonga, New Caledonia, Vanuatu and Solomon Islands. The largest islands are Viti Levu (‘Great Fiji’), Vanua Levu, Taveuni and Kadavu.