Local Government of Pakistan

There are three spheres of government in Pakistan: federal, provincial and local, as provided for by the constitution. The 18th amendment to the constitution of April 2010 transferred responsibility for local government from federal to provincial government.

Under the 17th constitutional amendment local government had a three-tier structure, comprising district (zila), tehsil and union councils. At the expiry of this amendment local government was suspended and local elections postponed while the new dispensation was given effect by the provincial governments. In the meantime, district administrators were appointed.