Judicial System of Saint Lucia

Supreme court: Eastern Caribbean Supreme Court

Ministry: Attorney-General’s Office; Justice

The Eastern Caribbean Supreme Court was established (as the West Indies Associated States Supreme Court) in 1967 with its headquarters in Castries in St Lucia, and is responsible for the administration of justice in its member states including St Lucia. It comprises the High Court of Justice and the Court of Appeal.

The High Court has 16 judges, three of whom are permanently resident in the country and sit in the court of summary jurisdiction. Less serious cases are heard in magistrates’ courts. The Court of Appeal is itinerant. The High Court’s jurisdiction includes fundamental rights and freedoms, and constitutional issues.