Government Politics of St Kitts and Nevis

Last elections: February 2015

Next elections: 2020

Head of state: Queen Elizabeth II, represented by Governor-General Samuel Weymouth Tapley Seaton QC

Head of government: Prime Minister Dr Timothy Sylvester Harris

Ruling party: Team Unity coalition

Dr Denzil Douglas and the St Kitts–Nevis Labour Party (SKNLP) were returned to power in the general election of October 2004, which was observed by a Commonwealth expert team. The ruling party took seven of the St Kitts seats, and the People’s Action Movement (PAM) one. TheNevisseats were again divided between the Concerned Citizens’ Movement (CCM; two seats) and the Nevis Reformation Party (NRP; one).

In January 2010 the SKNLP won its fourth consecutive general election, taking six seats in St Kitts and 47% of the national vote; and Douglas was returned as prime minister. The remaining seats were again divided between PAM (two in St Kitts; 32%), CCM (two in Nevis; 11%) and NRP (one in Nevis; 10%). The election was observed by a Commonwealth expert team.

Governor-General Sir Cuthbert Sebastian retired on 1 January 2013, from the office he had held since 1996, and was succeeded by Sir Edmund Lawrence on 2 January 2013.

At the general election on 16 February 2015 the SKNLP was denied a fifth consecutive term of office by Team Unity. Team Unity won seven seats, SKNLP three and NRP one. Team Unity was formed by PAM (four seats), CCM (two) and the recently established People’s Labour Party (PLP, one seat). The election was observed by a Commonwealth expert team. On 18 February PLP leader Timothy Harris was sworn in as Prime Minister.

In May 2015 Governor-General Sir Edmund Lawrence retired and Tapley Seaton QC became acting Governor-General. On 1 September 2015 Seaton was appointed Governor-General.


The CCM’s long run of power was interrupted in the July 2006 Nevis Island Assembly elections, when NRP gained three seats and the CCM two. NRP leader Joseph Parry became premier.

In closely fought Nevis Island Assembly elections, in July 2011, the NRP (with three seats and 50.2 per cent of the vote) defeated the CCM (two seats and 49.8 per cent) and Parry continued as premier.

The CCM (with three seats) won the January 2013 Nevis Island Assembly elections and Vance Amory was sworn in as premier. The NRP took the remaining two seats.