Geography of Guyana

Area: 214,970 sq km

Coastline: 459km

Capital: Georgetown

The Co-operative Republic of Guyana lies in the north-east of South America, north of the equator. It is bordered by Suriname, Brazil and Venezuela and, to the north and east, extends to the North Atlantic Ocean. The country comprises ten regions.