Constitution of Grenada

Status: Monarchy under Queen Elizabeth II

Legislature: Parliament

Independence: 7 February 1974

Grenada is a constitutional monarchy with Queen Elizabeth II as head of state. She is represented by a governor-general. A parliamentary democracy, Grenada has a bicameral legislature. The House of Representatives has 15 members elected by universal suffrage for a five-year term, and the Senate 13 members appointed for a five-year term by the governor-general in consultation with the prime minister and the leader of the opposition. The prime minister appoints the cabinet.