Local Government of Swaziland

Ministry: Housing and Urban Development

The Kingdom is divided into four regions: Hhohho (in the north), Manzini (west-central), Lubombo (east) and Shiselweni (south).

Local government is provided for by the Urban Government Act 1969, and it is enshrined in Chapter VIII of the constitution. The Ministry of Housing and Urban Development is responsible for local government, which comprises 12 municipalities and 55 tinkhundla (rural councils). Local authority councillors are elected.

The municipalities have revenue-raising powers, as well as receiving regular and one-off transfers from national government. The local authorities are generally responsible for town planning; environmental protection; water supply and sanitation; waste management; and leisure facilities.