Government Politics of Swaziland

Last elections: September 2013

Next elections: 2018

Head of state: King Mswati III

Head of government: Prime Minister Dr Sibusiso Barnabas Dlamini

Ruling party: no party system

Assembly and Senate elections for the pre-selected candidates were held in October 2003 and the turnout was low, especially in urban areas. A Commonwealth expert team was present. It said that while there were shortcomings ‘the elections were well conducted’, but that ‘no elections can be credible when they are for a parliament which does not have power and when political parties are banned’. In November 2003 King Mswati III confirmed A T Dlamini as prime minister.

A new constitution – drafted by the Constitutional Review Commission, chaired by Prince David Dlamini – was approved by parliament and signed by the King in July 2005. It came into effect in February 2006.

In the first elections under the new constitution, a new parliament was elected in September 2008. The election was observed by a Commonwealth expert team. The King appointed Dr Sibusiso Barnabas Dlamini as prime minister; he had previously served in that position 1996–2003.

In the parliamentary elections, held on 20 September 2013, 55 members were elected, 12 of whom were returned, including only two of the six government ministers. The King re-appointed Dr Sibusiso Barnabas Dlamini as Prime Minister.