Local Government of Lesotho

Ministry: Local Government and Chieftainship

Parliament is mandated by the constitution to provide for local government and has done this largely through the Local Government Act 1997 and Local Government Elections Act 1998. The Minister of Local Government and Chieftainship is responsible for local government, which comprises the single-tier Maseru City Council and ten two-tier district councils, the second tier of which comprises 128 community councils. Lesotho’s first local elections were held in April 2005; elections are held every five years.

The local authorities do have revenue-raising powers, but receive the bulk of their revenues from central government. Their many responsibilities include public health, environmental protection, water supply, education and agricultural support services.