Constitution of Lesotho

Status: National monarchy

Legislature: Parliament of Lesotho

Independence: 4 October 1966

Lesotho is a constitutional monarchy. The present constitution came into force in 1993, shortly after the return to multiparty democracy, and was amended in 2001 to introduce an element of proportional representation. The monarch is head of state, the succession being ratified by the College of Chiefs. The prime minister is head of government and appoints a cabinet.

The legislature has two chambers: the National Assembly which is elected for a five-year term, with 80 seats elected on a first-past-the-post basis, and 40 by means of proportional representation; and the non-elected Senate with 33 members, comprising 11 nominated by the monarch on the advice of the prime minister and the 22 principal chiefs of Lesotho.