Judicial System of Kenya

Supreme court: Supreme Court of Kenya

Ministry: Justice, National Cohesion and Constitutional Affairs

The new constitution promulgated on 27 August 2010 provided for an independent judiciary and a Supreme Court. The chief justice is the president of the Supreme Court, which comprises the chief justice, deputy chief justice and five other judges. It has sole jurisdiction over cases concerning presidential elections and it is the final court of appeal. The chief justice is the head of the judiciary, and is appointed by the president on the recommendation of the Judicial Service Commission, subject to the approval of the National Assembly.

The High Court deals with the most serious cases under civil and criminal law, as well as appeals from the lower courts. The High Court is based in Nairobi and has resident judges in cities and towns across the country, including Eldoret, Kisumu, Meru, Mombasa and Nakuru. Less serious cases are heard by magistrates. Appeals from the High Court are heard by the Kenya Court of Appeal which comprises at least 12 judges.

The new constitution recognises Kadhi courts to administer Islamic Law.