Government Politics of Cameroon

Last elections: October 2011 (presidential), 14 April 2013 (senate), 30 September 2013 (parliamentary and local)

Next elections: 2018 (presidential), 2018 (senate), 2018 (parliamentary and local)

Head of State: President Paul Biya

Head of Government: The President

Ruling party: Cameroon People’s Democratic Movement

In the June 2002 general election, the third since the introduction of multi-party politics in 1990, the ruling Cameroon People’s Democratic Movement (CPDM) gained 133 seats, substantially extending its parliamentary majority, while the Social Democratic Front (SDF) took 21 (mainly in the English-speaking North-West), the Union for Democracy and Change (UDC) five and Union of the Populations of Cameroon three. Elections in nine constituencies with 17 Assembly seats were annulled by the Supreme Court and re-run in September 2002, when 16 were won by the CPDM.

Incumbent President Paul Biya won a landslide victory in the October 2004 presidential election receiving 75% of the votes.

The elections in July 2007 extended the ruling CPDM’s majority in the National Assembly. On announcement of the results, 103 petitions for annulment were filed with the Supreme Court. A re-run ordered by the Court for 17 of the 180 seats in September 2007 resulted in reducing the CPDM’s holding to 153 seats; while SDF took 16, the National Union for Democracy and Progress six, UDC four and Progressive Movement one.

In early 2008 the National Assembly approved a constitutional amendment removing presidential term limits which opened the way for President Biya to seek re-election. Biya won the presidential election in October 2011 increasing his share of the vote to 78%. His main rival in a field of more than 20 candidates was John Fru Ndi (SDF) who secured 10.7% of the vote. Turnout was 66% and the election was observed by a Commonwealth expert team.

In the first Senate elections, held on 14 April 2013, the ruling CPDM won 56 of the 70 elective seats and the SDF 14. National Assembly and local elections were held on 30 September 2013.