Murang’a County Assembly

Murang’a County is bordered by the counties of Nyeri to the north, Nyandarua to the west, Kiambu to the south, Machakos to the south-east, Embu to the east and Kirinyaga to the north-east. The Kikuyu people consider Murang’a as their ancestral home; and Murang’a is regarded as the birthplace of Kenya’s independence struggle.

The counties of Kenya are 47 geographical units, envisioned by the 2010 Constitution of Kenya, replacing the eight provinces. A new structure is in place for the two-level devolution of governance, the national government and the county government – a second level of governance after the national government.

The County Assembly consists of members elected by voters of the wards and the Speaker, an ex officio member. A County Assembly is elected for a term of five years.


County Executive Committees

The executive authority of the county is exercised by a county executive committee comprising the governor, deputy governor and members appointed by the county governor with the approval of the Assembly. The county governor and the deputy county governor are the chief executive and deputy chief executive of the county. The office of governor is one of the key political offices in the new county structures under the devolved system of government as envisaged in the new constitution. Murang’a County is represented in the National Assembly by seven directly elected members for Gatanga, Kandara, Kangema, Kigumo, Kiharu, Maragua and Mathioya.

During February 2013, the clerk to the Assembly and sergeant-at-arms were recruited by the Public Service Commission and deployed by the transition authority. Following the general election on 4 March 2013, county assembly members (MCAs), women representatives, members of parliament (MPs), senators, governors and the president were elected. Murang’a County has 35 MCAs, a speaker and 16 nominated members.



Subsequently, the Select and the Sectoral Committees were formed, comprising 18 committees.

Select Committees cover a variety of specialisations including county public investment and accounts, county budget and appropriation, appointments, committee on delegated county legislation, selection, procedures and rules, assembly business committee and liaison.

Sectoral Committees include agromarketing and co-operative developments, education, information and technology, transport and infrastructure development, finance and planning, land, housing and physical planning, agriculture, livestock, environment, youth, culture and social services

The Clerk in Office during March 2013, requested the executive to deploy officers to the County Assembly specifically the Hansard team, procurement, ICT, human resources and finance. The Assembly has 35 members of staff but the number is still inadequate in terms of expertise and capacity.

The Assembly is keen to welcome supporters, volunteers and financiers to share their expertise to achieve its goals and for capacity building training for both the MCAs and
members of staff.

Murang’a County Assembly

Contact Murang'a County Assembly