Government Politics of Singapore

Last elections: September 2015

Next elections: 2020

Head of state: President Dr Tony Tan Keng Yam (2011–)

Head of government: Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong

Ruling party: People’s Action Party

In an early general election in November 2001, the electorate gave the People’s Action Party (PAP) a decisive endorsement, when it took 82 of the 84 elective seats with 75.3% of the votes. The Workers’ Party (WP) and the four-party Singapore Democratic Alliance each won one seat.

In August 2004 Goh Chok Tong was succeeded by Lee Hsien Loong, son of Lee Kuan Yew and deputy prime minister since 1990.

The PAP was again returned with 82 seats in the May 2006 general election, receiving 66.6% of the votes. Opposition parties contested 47 seats, and it was the first time more than half the seats were contested.

In the May 2011 general election the PAP won 81 seats and received 60.1% of the votes. Opposition parties contested 82 seats. The WP (six seats and 12.8%) was the only other party to win seats, though the National Solidarity Party received a comparable number of the votes (12.0%).

In a hard-fought presidential contest, in August 2011, former deputy prime minister Tony Tan – with 35.2% of the votes cast – defeated his three rivals; Tan Cheng Bock secured 34.9% of the votes, Tan Jee Say 25.0% and Tan Kin Lian 4.9%. Dr Tan succeeded retiring President S R Nathan on 1 September 2011.

Former Prime Minister Lee Kuan Yew (1959– 90) died on 23 March 2015.

In the general election held on 11 September 2015 the PAP decisively increased its share of the votes cast, winning 83 seats with 69.9 per cent of the votes. The WP took six seats and 12.5 per cent of the votes. Turnout was 94 per cent.