Local Government of Zambia

Ministry: Local Government

Association: Local Government Association of Zambia

Local government is provided for by the Local Government Act 1991 and the Local Government Elections Act 1992, and it is enshrined in Part 8 of the constitution. The Ministry of Local Government is responsible for local government, which comprises four city councils, 14 municipal councils and 55 district councils. Local elections are held every five years.

The local authorities have revenue-raising powers, as well as receiving transfers from national government. They are responsible for a range of infrastructure and services, including policing; water and sanitation; fire services; roads; and agricultural support services.