Constitution of United Republic of Tanzania

Status: Republic with executive President

Legislature: Parliament of Tanzania

Independence: 9 December 1961 (mainland), 10 December 1963 (Zanzibar)

The unicameral legislature, the National Assembly, includes some members directly elected by universal adult suffrage (in 239 constituencies in 2010), some women members nominated by the parties in proportion to the number of seats they hold in the Assembly (102 following the October 2010 election), up to ten presidential appointees, five delegates from the Zanzibar parliament and, ex officio, the attorney-general. General elections are held every five years.

The executive president is elected in separate presidential elections held simultaneously with general elections. He or she must represent a registered political party and have a running mate for the position of vice-president of theUnion. The president may serve a maximum of two five-year terms.

The Zanzibar administration has its own president and a House of Representatives of 50 directly elected members, 15 female nominees (by the parties in proportion to the number of seats they hold in the House), ten presidential nominees, and five ex officio members; one seat is reserved for the attorney-general. The House is responsible for legislation on domestic matters and, in practice, external trade.

From October 2000, use of the full official name of United Republic of Tanzania was adopted.