Geography of Malawi

Area: 118,484 sq km

Coastline: none

Capital: Lilongwe

Malawi is a long, narrow south-east African country shaped by the dramatic Rift Valley, with Lake Malawi a dominant feature. It is bordered by Mozambique to the east, south and south-west, by Zambia to the north and north-west, and by the United Republic of Tanzania to the north and north-east.

There are three regions: the northern (capital Mzuzu), the central (capital Lilongwe) and the southern (capital Blantyre).